The Kids’ Names

Disclaimer: If you know my kid you will understand that he is extremely matter of fact (think Brick from the TV show The Middle). He tells it like it is without a care to how his words are perceived by others. So, while he can come off kinda harsh, he thinks everyone is his friend and they think he is the bomb, too. With this in mind I shall now tell you the story of the kids with the “weird names”. 

DSCN1748

Rory and I are chatting before he leaves for the bus the other morning. I’m asking him about the kids in his class and what are their names. He goes on to tell me that there are 3 kids with weird names. Now, he is being completely serious and I’m trying not to bust out laughing because the fact that he thinks this is just too funny to me. Remember, he is like the character Brick. The saying, “the pot calling the kettle black” comes to mind. So, our conversation goes something like this:

Rory: Umm… so there is Jesus (pronouncing like Americans would).

Me: Are you sure it isn’t Jesus (pronouncing it like Mexicans would)? Is he Mexican?

Rory: I don’t know but he is brown. *says the name again*

Me: Really? Are you sure? Because that is not normally how that name is pronounced.

Rory: YES! That is how the teachers say it.

Me: Really? *looking confused and bewildered*

Rory: Mom! Yes! So, then there is Amajesty.

Me: What did you say? Majesty or Amajesty?

Rory: Amajesty…. Isn’t that a funny name?

Me: *hiding my face trying not laugh* Well.. I guess. It is certainly different.

Rory: Then there is a kid with a name that starts with an “L”. It is so weird I can’t even remember what it is?

Me: *begins saying random uncommon “L” names*

Rory: No. *sighs deeply* I can’t remember it is just that weird. But, I know it starts with L and he is really tall and also brown.

All this from the kid who proclaimed Friday as green day and dressed in green camouflaged shorts and a green t-shirt with black and green knee high socks.

Rory: The kids are going to think this outfit is so cool!

Whispers: green day

WHOOP! 

 

 


Leave a comment