Adjusting To A New Climate

courtesy of Don Diehl
Photo courtesy of Don Diehl

The weather is slowly becoming colder and I’m a little overwhelmed with it. When we lived in Hawaii I was hot and sweaty ALL THE TIME. There is almost no break from it so, when I heard we were headed back to the east coast I longed for the cooler climate that fall and winter promised. In fact I begged for summer to end so I could wear sweatshirts and wool sweaters long forgotten in our years of summer. Now fall has happened. It isn’t even that cold yet and I’m like.. oh, gosh I think I’m screwed! I’M SO COLD and it is like 45 degrees out!!

Not only am I cold but choosing clothing is also a challenge. Here in SE Virginia  our mornings can be cold needing coats but by mid day it is warm enough to be in short sleeves. So teaching my kids to dress in layers has not been easy. They are still in the warm weather mindset however, GK did get a taste of what it means to underdress in the morning when it is 40 degrees. He claimed it would “just fine” as he stepped out the door in his gym shorts and short sleeve with a hoodie. Bad part was the bus didn’t not show and he stood outside for 30 mins before coming home because he was “FREEZING”!!!! I kindly remind him of that morning when he seems underdressed to me now.

The only thing I am enjoying about the cooler weather is sleeping. I have been sleeping better than I have in years! Being hot when you sleep is not fun but when it is cold once you warm up under the blankets add a snuggly purring cat and there is no leaving. Oh, the struggle!

I’m sure my cold weather loving friends who move to warm climates suffer similar issues. Because learning to get used to sweating all the time isn’t a cake walk either. So, while feeling cold is somewhat of a challenge I certainly don’t miss feeling dirty from sweating just walking to the mailbox.

Tell me… Do you like hot or cold weather better?

 

 


Leave a comment